from the heart · marriage

Happy Wife’s Day!

Today is Mother’s Day…A time for celebrating mother’s and all the hard work they do. Motherhood is wonderful! I was asked to fill in for the church nursery today, and you know… I really didn’t mind! Because if it weren’t for that little bundle of joy, I wouldn’t be celebrating Mother’s Day at all! In fact, I saw somebody post on Facebook that their favorite title is “mother.”

But I got to thinking… Yes, I LOVE being mother to my sweet son, and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. Yes, it’s a HUGE responsibility that shouldn’t be taken lightly. And, yes, it is a LOT of work… But when did it surpass the title of “WIFE”?

Now, don’t get me wrong… There are seasons when those like munchkins are responsibility #1 and they consume almost every moment of attention and every ounce of energy you have to give. In fact, I’m in that season right now. But as much as I love him and as much as he needs me… My child is not my first priority.

My greatest and foremost earthly title is “wife.” And I venture to say that it is equally as challenging, equally as hard, and equally as rewarding as motherhood. Maybe even more so…

We don’t think of it that way these days. Kids always take first place in our lives. Our culture has become so consumed with keeping the children happy, involved, and free of any type of made-up emotional trauma that we can come up with that marriages are being forgotten!

A friend sent me this the other day at an exact moment when I was thinking, “Does doing ___ make me a bad mom?”

If we really dive into what the Bible tells us about being wives (how to treat our husbands, how to respond to them, how to behave when we don’t get our way, on and on and on…), it’s a lot of work! It’s not something that comes naturally. In fact, that’s part of the curse in Genesis 3:16… To resist our husbands’ authority. It’s something we have to work on every single day.

Do we really put the same effort into our marriages as we do into our kids?

After all… The children are supposed to grow up and leave the nest; spouses aren’t. 

Just some food for thought…

So I say, let’s celebrate wifehood! Let’s reach out to the Titus 2 women in our lives who have shown us how to live and love as biblical wives. Let’s be Titus 2 women ourselves and teach those things to the next generation. And let’s ALWAYS study God’s Word to do better. 

I say “Happy Wife’s Day!” 😊🌹

Leave a Reply

